Promoting Information Literacy One Click At a Time

I decided to stretch myself this summer.  I am selecting to read books that I would not choose, but may be chosen by reluctant readers. Mike Lupica writes sports related books that have won many awards so I thought I would start there. My husband is a huge football fan, so he helped me through some of the play by plays!

I used Animoto to complete the book Trailer. This is an easy tool for students to use for book talks or any project that supports multimedia. I chose to use images from Microsoft, but students could use their own images and even video clips.

I just finished The Maze Runner by James Dashner which was listed on the 2011 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers.  I’m looking forward to reading the second book in the trilogy  The Scorch Trials.  If you were a fan of The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins, then you will enjoy The Maze Runner.  Just like The Hunger Games it is a crossover book that middle school and high school students will enjoy.

Leave a Reply

